Kingfisher Readers

Spread the word

A nice little series of books to help along beginning readers. The series has five levels, and as of the date of this writing, each level has about 5 to 7 volumes (it looks like the publisher may be adding more volumes/topics to each level). The books cover a variety of topics about the world around us, both natural and man-made. The books come in both paper and hard-back editions, and are full of relevant photos and illustrations to help capture the interest of the child.

Summarizing the information on the back cover: Level 1: Beginning to Read. Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone. Level 3: Reading Alone with Some Help. Level 4: Reading Alone. Level 5: Reading Fluently.

I’ve been been using these (purchasing level sets as he progressed) with my son soon after he mastered phonics and started simple reading on his own. He loves these books. Once he got to level 3, I started to use them as supplementary copy, discussion, and vocab work in addition to just reading them for the fun of it (which he would do several times for each volume).

I highly recommend these books as supplementary materials to help get young readers off the ground reading about interesting things and learning about the world around them.

Level 1:


Level 2:


Level 3:


Level 4:


Level 5:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *